You wouldn’t be alone in bailing on either of these top social networks. Negative well-deserved headlines continue to erode the trust of Mark Zuckerberg and his team at Facebook and Instagram. There is also a much greater focus on a trend in your “digital well-being”.
Balancing Life with Tech
Praise for Apple introducing ScreenTime functionality that recaps how you are using technology including how much time is being spent social networks. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out how social media networks have mastered the art of manipulating more and more of your valuable time in life. Screen Time reports I have configured to see weekly make me wonder what I am missing in life by spending so much time consumed by social media.
If you are like me, you are thinking about what you are really getting out of social media and how to strike a balance in your life with this greater awareness. For others, they want to do a complete and final digital detox by deleting social networks forever.
Warning before deleting
Think twice if you decide to delete, it cannot be undone. There are options to pause your social media accounts which is less drastic a move. Your photos, videos, comments, messages within messenger.. everything will be gone from your devices and from Facebook and Instagram servers permanently.
HOW TO DELETE FACEBOOK PERMANENTLY
1/ tap upper right down arrow, settings
2/ scroll to Account Ownership and Control
3/ Deactivation and Deletion
4/ Delete Account
Your messenger account will also be deleted permanently.
HOW TO DELETE INSTAGRAM PERMANENTLY
You cannot delete by using the Instagram app. Your account can only be deleted by logging on to the web.
1/ go to “Delete Your Account” page instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/
2/ answer “Why are you deleting your account?” dropdown
3/ Click “Permanently delete my account”
You cannot undelete an account once it’s done.
Once deleted permanently your account, profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be gone forever.