Home » Map buried inside your phone reveals where you have been and photos you snapped there

Map buried inside your phone reveals where you have been and photos you snapped there

by Kurt Knutsson

Google in its almighty big tech way of harvesting more of your privacy has a hidden feature inside its photos and maps tools that look like a weather map when accessed. Instead, the only storms you see are exactly where you’ve been, when you were there and the photos you captured in that spot.

Yes, Google still tracks your every move with location data and more. In exchange, they make some of the most sought-after mapping tools and photo storage tools. What’s convenient and novelty is also a very personal history of your life available to anyone who can get access to your phone or Google account.

If you don’t want to be tracked and have all of your photos’ location data mapped on Google, then follow these tips.

How to Check Google Photos Settings

  • Launch Google Photos app
  • In the bottom bar, tap search
  • Under Places section, you can see all the places associated with the photos you’ve taken
  • That’s where you see the map showing all the photos taken in a specific spot

 

How to Disable Google Photos Map Feature

 
On Mobile:

  • Open Google Maps on your phone while signed into your Google account
  • Click the icon in the upper right-hand corner > Click “Your timeline”
  • Tap on “Manage Location History
  • Click the 3 horizontal dots in the upper right-hand corner.
    • At the bottom of the screen, click “Settings and Privacy”
    • Go to the 5th row down which says “Location History”.  Be sure to select that it is off.  If it is currently on, click the row, which will bring you to the next page, and click the “Turn off” button.
    • You can also set an Auto Delete option where the location data will be automatically deleted from your view after a period of time you set.

 
On a Desktop

  • Open Google Maps on your desktop while signed into your Google account
  • Click the icon in the upper right-hand corner > Manage your Google Account
  • Click “Data & Privacy”
  • Under “History settings” module in the center of the page, go to the “Location History” row and click the row.
    • Be sure to “Turn off” location history.
    • You can also set an Auto Delete option where the location data will be automatically deleted from your view after a period of time you set.

 
More ways to take back your privacy:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

GET MY FREE CYBERGUY REPORT
Subscribe to receive my latest Tech news, tips & tricks, and deals newsletter. (We won't spam or share your email with anyone else.)

By signing up, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. You may unsubscribe at any time.