Google captures everything it can about you.

Now that people are more aware of how much of their lives are being scalped for profits that you and I will never see and at a cost that we may one day regret, we can do one thing to delete our search history. Google is the masterful example of leveraging our most private and personal details in life and selling them on the open market.

Let’s be honest, of all tech companies Google owns you more than anyone else.

It creeps me out when I’m reminded that the trade-off for free searches on the internet from Google and the array of Google products that dominate the digital landscape come with a price that makes me feel like strangers are watching our every move.

You have every reason to have the same privacy concerns since Google is amongst the biggest culprits in the world of scraping every last personal detail from your existence into a product ready for advertisers to buy. It’s how they operate and how we have blindly been taken down a path of the most meaningful option to searching for things on the internet.

Dare I mention the R word? Regulation seems inevitable for Google at some point since they have made it impossible for anyone else to compete with the tech giant. For now allow me to help you regain a little of your privacy and dignity.

And not that anyone made them do it, Google currently offers a way to delete what YOU see from your past searches. Does it mean that Google will no longer own and control that part of your life? Probably not.

Google owns you, period.

And they care about as much about you as the amount of money you mean to their stockholders’ bottomline.

Here’s the quick and easy way to delete your Google search history.

How to Delete everything you’ve ever searched on Google

1/ Login to your Google account.
2/ Locate your initials (or image if you uploaded one) inside the circle in upper corner. To the left of this, click on the small grid of 9 squares: 

  • This will open up a menu.
  • Click “Account”

3/ Scroll down the page and select My Activity.
4/ Review everything you’ve searched for and visited.

Now that you’re on the My Activity page, Select the three line menu at top left of screen (this menu may already be open depending on what device you’re on)
5/ Tap “Delete activity by
6/ Under ‘Delete by date‘ select All Time
7/ Just below in the “All products” dropdown menu, tap Search
8/ Select Delete, OK, then Delete again.

Be very careful to examine everything you will be deleting. Once it’s done. It is done.

For me, I couldn’t hit Delete fast enough.

More of my privacy tips here